The University Toronto Mississauga’s Harriet Sonne de Torrens wins prestigious OCUFA academic librarianship award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

TORONTO – Dr. Harriet Sonne de Torrens of the University of Toronto Mississauga has been awarded a 2014-15 Academic Librarianship Award by the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) in recognition of her outstanding contributions to university education in Ontario.

“Dr. Sonne de Torrens is a teacher, scholar, researcher, advocate, and mentor,” said Andrea Buchholz, Chair of OCUFA’s Award Committee. “She consistently demonstrates an extraordinary level of engagement with her profession, her university, her colleagues, and her students. For that, she is an obvious choice for the Academic Librarianship Award.”

Dr. Sonne de Torrens will receive her award at an October 24, 2015 ceremony in Toronto, alongside winners of OCUFA’s Teaching Award.

“Professors and academic librarians are at the heart of our universities. They prepare students for the challenges of tomorrow, while discovering the ideas and knowledge that enrich all of our lives,” said Judy Bates, President of OCUFA. “OCUFA is honoured to recognize the dedication, skill, and passion of this year’s distinguished winners.”

Founded in 1964, OCUFA represents 17,000 professors and academic librarians in 28 faculty associations across Ontario. It is committed to enhancing the quality of higher education in Ontario and recognizing the outstanding contributions of its members towards creating a world-class university system. For more information, please visit the OCUFA website at


Graeme Stewart, Director of Communications, 416-979-2117 x232,

Mark Rosenfeld, Executive Director, 416-979-2117 x229,