OCUFA announces winners of the 2015 Service Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

TORONTO – The Ontario Confederation is pleased to announce this year’s recipients OCUFA Service Award: Micheline Lessard from the Association of Professors of the University of Ottawa (APUO), and Bill Salatka from the Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty Association.

“The OCUFA Service Award was established to honour individuals who have done, or continue to do, exceptional work on behalf of OCUFA and its member faculty associations,” said Kate Lawson, President of OCUFA.

Micheline Lessard has made an outstanding contribution to the APUO as a grievance officer, as Vice President, and as President. In addition, she has served with distinction on OCUFA’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee.

As well as serving as Chief Negotiator and President of WLUFA, Bill Salatka is renowned for his ability to see through complex university financial statements and deliver incisive, easy-to-understand analysis. It is an ability he shares with his colleagues as a founding member of OCUFA’s University Finance Committee

“The recipients of this award have time and time again gone above the call of duty and provided tireless service to their colleagues at home and across the province,” said Lawson. “Without their work, OCUFA could simply not achieve its dual goal of protecting the rights and interests of faculty while promoting a high-quality, accessible university system.”

Founded in 1964, OCUFA represents 17,000 professors and academic librarians in 28 faculty associations across Ontario. For more information, please visit the OCUFA website at http://www.ocufa.on.ca.


Media Contact:

Graeme Stewart at 416 306 6033 (office), 647 280 3175 (mobile), or gstewart@ocufa.on.ca