University of Windsor’s Karen Pillon wins prestigious OCUFA academic librarianship award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

TORONTO – Karen Pillon, Head of Access Services at the Leddy Library at the University of Windsor, has been named one of Ontario’s most outstanding academic librarians by the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA). Pillon will receive a 2016-2017 OCUFA Academic Librarianship Award at an October 21, 2017 ceremony in Toronto, hosted by CBC personality Paul Kennedy.

“Through her work with public libraries, high schools, and social service agencies, Karen Pillon’s passion for learning and research has impacted students beyond the University of Windsor campus,” said Professor Judy Bornais, Chair of OCUFA’s Award Committee. “Her commitment to accessible learning and innovative teaching methods is praiseworthy.”

The other recipient of a 2016-2017 OCUFA Academic Librarianship Award is:

  • Mindy Thuna, Head of the Engineering and Computer Science Library at the University of Toronto

The recipients of a 2016-2017 OCUFA Teaching Award are:

  • Dora Cavallo-Medved, a permanent lecturer in the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Windsor
  • Kimberley Dej, Associate Professor in the School of Interdisciplinary Science at McMaster University
  • Milena Head, Professor of Information Systems at McMaster University
  • Quazi Mehbubar Rahman, Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Western University
  • Mira Sucharov, Associate Professor of Political Science at Carleton University

“Professors and academic librarians are at the heart of our universities. They challenge and encourage their students to embrace new ideas and build a brighter future,” said OCUFA President Gyllian Phillips. “This year’s distinguished winners are all dedicated to and passionate about their work, and OCUFA is honoured to recognize them with teaching and librarianship awards.”

Founded in 1964, OCUFA represents 17,000 faculty and academic librarians in 28 faculty associations across Ontario.