Trent University’s Catherine Bruce wins prestigious teaching award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Toronto – Professor Catherine Bruce of Trent University has been named one of Ontario’s most outstanding university teachers by the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA). Professor Bruce, who teaches in the School of Education and Professional Learning, will receive a 2012-2013 OCUFA Teaching Award at a September 28, 2013 ceremony in Toronto.

“Professor Bruce’s students, past and present, describe her teaching as ‘innovative’, ‘transformative’, and ‘inspirational,’ ” said Kate Lawson, President of OCUFA. “After reviewing her nomination and seeing her dedication to students, her use of technology to enhance learning, and her outstanding contributions to teaching practice, we absolutely agreed. Prof. Bruce is a natural choice for an OCUFA Teaching Award.”

The five other recipients of an OCUFA Teaching Award are: Richard Caron, Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Windsor; Brent E. Faught, Professor of Epidemiology in the Faculty of Applied Health Sciences, Brock University; Lorraine Janzen Kooistra, Professor of English in the Faculty of Arts, Ryerson University; Stephen G.A. Pitel, Associate Professor in the Faculty of Law, Western University; and Susan Vajoczki, Professor in the School of Geography and Earth Sciences, McMaster University.

“Every day, Ontario’s professors make incredible things happen in our classrooms and labs,” said Lawson. “This year’s winners exemplify the commitment, passion, and dedication to student success that produce outstanding learning across the province.”

Founded in 1964, OCUFA represents 17,000 faculty and academic librarians in 27 faculty associations across Ontario. It has been celebrating outstanding achievement in teaching and academic librarianship at Ontario universities since 1973. For more information, please visit the OCUFA website at

Contact: Mark Rosenfeld, Executive Director, 416-979-217, Ext 229,
or Graeme Stewart, Communications Manager, 416-979-2117, Ext 232