OCUFA announces winners of Lorimer Award for outstanding work on behalf of Ontario’s faculty

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

TORONTO – The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) is pleased to announce the 2015 winners of the prestigious Lorimer Award. This honour recognizes individuals who have worked to protect and promote the interests of Ontario’s academic staff through collective bargaining.

This year’s winners are:

  • Sheila McKee-Protopapas, Executive Director, Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty Association
  • Professor Edward Carter, University of Guelph

“The 2015 winners of the Lorimer Award have gone above and beyond the call of duty to improve the working lives of Ontario’s faculty,” said Kate Lawson, President of OCUFA. “We are indebted to them for their hard work, resolve, and dedication.”

The Lorimer Award was established in honour of Doug and Joyce Lorimer, who were instrumental in advancing faculty association collective bargaining in Ontario. Winners of the award all share the Lorimers’ commitment to advancing Ontario’s university system through strong faculty associations and fair collective agreements.

“OCUFA is extremely proud to recognize the exceptional individuals who safeguard the aspirations of Ontario’s academic staff,” said Lawson. “High-quality education needs high-quality faculty. Through the Lorimer award, we recognize the outstanding work that ensures every faculty member has the rights and resources they need to excel.”

Ms. McKee-Protopapas and Professor Carter will receive their awards at a ceremony in Toronto on February 7, 2015.

Founded in 1964, OCUFA represents 17,000 faculty and academic librarians in 28 faculty associations across Ontario. For more information, please visit the OCUFA website at http://www.ocufa.on.ca.


For more information, contact Graeme Stewart, Communications Manager at 416 306 6033 (office), 647 241 7011 (mobile), gstewart@ocufa.on.ca


Mark Rosenfeld, Executive Director, 416 306 6030, mrosenfeld@ocufa.on.ca