OCUFA announces recipients of the 2018-2019 Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

TORONTO – The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) is pleased to announce the recipients of its prestigious Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards. Since 1973, these awards have recognized the exceptional contributions made to the quality of higher education in Ontario by faculty.

“Faculty are at the heart of Ontario’s vibrant universities. Through their hard work and boundless energy, they inspire students to embrace new ideas and build a brighter future,” said OCUFA President Rahul Sapra. “This year’s distinguished award recipients are all dedicated and passionate teachers and mentors. OCUFA is honoured to recognize them with teaching and librarianship awards.”

The 2018-2019 Teaching Award recipients are:

  • Sue Baptiste, Professor Emerita in the School of Rehabilitation Science at McMaster University
  • Daniel Gillis, Associate Professor in the School of Computing Science at the University of Guelph
  • Jennifer Irwin, Professor in the School of Health Studies at Western University
  • Andrew Petersen, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream in the Department of Mathematical and Computational Sciences at the University of Toronto Mississauga

The 47th annual awards ceremony, featuring special guest speaker and award-winning journalist Robert Fisher, will take place at the Westin Harbour Castle Hotel in Toronto on October 19, 2019.

Founded in 1964, OCUFA represents 17,000 professors and academic librarians in 30 faculty associations across Ontario. It is committed to enhancing the quality of higher education in Ontario and recognizing the outstanding contributions of its members towards creating a world-class university system. For more information, please visit the OCUFA website at www.ocufa.on.ca.


For more information, contact:
Ben Lewis, Communications Lead at 416-306-6033 or communications@ocufa.on.ca