Lorimer Collective Bargaining Award

The Lorimer Award is established in honour of Joyce and Doug Lorimer of the Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty Association and is instituted to honour and recognize outstanding contributions to improving the terms and conditions of employment of Ontario university faculty through bargaining.
Nomination Criteria
  • Candidates must be in an OCUFA Member association.
  • Candidates’ achievements may include, but are not limited to, the following:
               * organizational leadership,
               * providing assistance to other Member associations within OCUFA, or;
               * dedicated service.
  • The outstanding quality of the contribution must derive from the accumulation of efforts through consistent involvement over a long period of time in supporting the cause of bargaining in the university sector.
The selection committee shall consist of two members from the OCUFA Collective Bargaining Committee, two representatives from the OCUFA Executive and the Executive Director, or designate.
Nomination Process
Individuals may be nominated by an OCUFA member association, a member of a standing or ad hoc OCUFA committee, or an OCUFA Board of Director. The nomination package shall include:
  • a letter of contributions and achievements which details the contributions and achievements of the candidate as they relate to distinguished contributions to the advancement of bargaining;
  • the nominee’s curriculum vitae;
  • 3- 5 letters of support; and,
  • the Selection Committee will make up to one recommendation per year to the OCUFA Board.
The Selection Committee may gather further information as it feels necessary to assist in its decision making.
Application deadline: March 8, 2024