Ryerson professor honoured for outstanding work on behalf of Ontario’s faculty

| Comment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Professor Ian Sakinofsky of Ryerson University has been awarded the prestigious Lorimer Award by the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA). This honour recognizes individuals who have worked to protect and promote the interests of Ontario’s academic staff through collective bargaining. Prof. Sakinofsky received his award at a ceremony on February 7, 2014 in Toronto.

“Ian is a tireless champion of faculty rights and effective collective bargaining,” said Kate Lawson, President of OCUFA. “Whether working with the Ryerson Faculty Association or through OCUFA’s Collective Bargaining Committee, his deep knowledge, unparalleled experience, and thoroughgoing dedication to social justice is nothing short of remarkable.”

The Lorimer Award was established in honour of Doug and Joyce Lorimer, who were instrumental in advancing faculty association collective bargaining in Ontario. Winners of the award all share the Lorimers’ commitment to advancing Ontario’s university system through strong faculty associations and fair collective agreements. 

“OCUFA is extremely proud to recognize the exceptional individuals who safeguard the aspirations of Ontario’s academic staff,” said Lawson. “High-quality education needs high-quality faculty. Through the Lorimer award, we recognize the outstanding work that ensures every faculty member has the rights and resources to be great.”

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.