OCUFA announces winners of the 2013-2014 Teaching Awards

| Comment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) is pleased to announce the winners of its prestigious Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards. Since 1973, these awards have recognized exceptional contributions made by professors and librarians to the quality of higher education in Ontario.

“We need universities to fuel the future, and you can’t have great universities without great professors,” said OCUFA President Kate Lawson. “This year’s winners of the OCUFA Teaching Award embody the commitment, skill, and passion that create incredible learning opportunities for students across Ontario.”

The 2013-2014 Teaching Award recipients are:

  • Marshall Beier, Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science, McMaster University
  • Tamara Kelly, Associate Lecturer in the Department of Biology, York University
  • Margaret Jane Kidnie, Professor in the Department of English, Western University
  • Donna Kotsopoulos, Associate Professor in the Faculty of Education and Department of Mathematics, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Edmund Pries, Assistant Professor in the Department of Global Studies, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Karen Reid, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Computer Science, University of Toronto

41st annual awards ceremony will take place at the Westin Harbour Castle Hotel in Toronto on October 25, 2014.

Founded in 1964, OCUFA represents 17,000 professors and academic librarians in 28 faculty associations across Ontario. It is committed to enhancing the quality of higher education in Ontario and recognizing the outstanding contributions of its members towards creating a world-class university system.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.