OCUFA announces winners of the 2015-2016 Teaching Awards

| Comment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

TORONTO – The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) is pleased to announce the winners of its prestigious Teaching Awards. Since 1973, these awards have recognized the exceptional contributions made by professors and librarians to the quality of higher education in Ontario.
“Teaching is at the heart of great universities and a great university education. Great teachers fire the imaginations of students and pave the way for success after graduation.” said OCUFA President Judy Bates. “We are thrilled to be able to recognize this year’s outstanding educators with an OCUFA Teaching Award.”

The 2015-2016 Teaching Award recipients are:

  • David Andrews, Professor of Kinesiology at the University of Windsor
  • Raywat Deonandan, Assistant Professor in Interdisciplinary School of Health Science, University of Ottawa
  • Diane Horton, Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science, University of Toronto
  • Marjorie Johnson, Assistant Professor in the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University
  • Dana Lee, Associate Professor in the RTA School of Media, Ryerson University
  • Jonathan Rose, Professor in the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of Toronto

The 43rd annual awards ceremony, hosted by CBC’s Bob McDonald, will take place at the Westin Harbour Castle Hotel in Toronto on October 29, 2016.

Founded in 1964, OCUFA represents 17,000 professors and academic librarians in 28 faculty associations across Ontario. It is committed to enhancing the quality of higher education in Ontario and recognizing the outstanding contributions of its members towards creating a world-class university system.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.