Laurier professor honoured with Lorimer Award for outstanding work on behalf of Ontario’s faculty

| Comment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) is pleased to announce the 2015 winner of its prestigious Lorimer Award. This honour recognizes individuals who have worked to protect and promote the interests of Ontario’s academic staff through collective bargaining.

This year’s winner is Bill Salatka, from Wilfrid Laurier University.

“Bill’s ability to make the most confusing university financial statements clear and understandable is legendary,” said Judy Bates, President of OCUFA. “This, coupled with his generous commitment to expanding the financial analytical skills of his colleagues across the province makes him a natural choice for the Lorimer Award.”

The Lorimer Award was established in honour of Doug and Joyce Lorimer, who were instrumental in advancing faculty association collective bargaining in Ontario. Winners of the award all share the Lorimers’ commitment to advancing Ontario’s university system through strong faculty associations and fair collective agreements.

“OCUFA is extremely proud to recognize the exceptional individuals who safeguard the aspirations of Ontario’s academic staff,” said Bates. “High-quality education rest on good working conditions for Ontario’s professors and academic librarians. Through the Lorimer award, we recognize the outstanding work that ensures every faculty member has the rights and resources to be great.”

Professor Salatka will receive his award at a ceremony in Toronto on February 20, 2016.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.